close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Book As Art 7: Wonders- Opening Reception

2019-08-23 19:00:00 2019-08-23 21:00:00 America/New_York Book As Art 7: Wonders- Opening Reception Decatur Library

Friday, August 23
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-08-23 19:00:00 2019-08-23 21:00:00 America/New_York Book As Art 7: Wonders- Opening Reception Book As Art: Wonders is the seventh edition of this critically acclaimed artist book exhibition established by the Decatur Arts Alliance in 2013. Works will be displayed in the Periodicals Room. Decatur Library

Book As Art: Wonders is the seventh edition of this critically acclaimed artist book exhibition established by the Decatur Arts Alliance in 2013. Works will be displayed in the Periodicals Room.

A book begins as a small mass of material, formed and pressed into life by ideas, words, and machines. A concept becomes thought, becomes word, becomes book, becomes sculpture. From the tactile complexity of handmade paper, to the alteration of existing volumes, to a variety of other materials and concepts, these objects, in an increasingly digital world, stubbornly survive. The objects in this exhibition will interpret the concept of the book and invite the viewer to look beyond the printed page to where word has become form.

Book As Art: Wonders is the seventh edition of this critically acclaimed artist book exhibition established by the Decatur Arts Alliance in 2013. Entries hail from across the United States and around the world, and from emerging artists as well as recognized masters in the genre. The Book As Art is pleased to present these examples from the finest in the field.

Jurors  for 2019 are Denise Bookwalter, Tallahassee, FL; Mari Eckstein Gower, Redmond, WA; and Andrew Huot, Atlanta, GA. 

 

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Exhibits |

TAGS: | georgia center for the book's festival of writers |

Decatur Library

Phone: 404-370-3070

Hours
Mon, Jan 27 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jan 28 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jan 29 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jan 30 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Jan 31 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 01 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 02 1:00PM to 6:00PM

About the library

Funding for some events at this branch provided in part by the Friends of the Decatur Library.

All DeKalb County Public Library branches offer books for all ages including adult learning materials, audiobooks, music CDs, DVDs, current newspapers and magazines. All branches also offer access to computers, internet, WiFi, MS Office, and research databases. For a more comprehensive list of all services available at this branch, please visit the Decatur Library page.

Upcoming events

Wed, Jan 29, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Jan 29, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Decatur Library Meeting Room

Thu, Jan 30, 10:00am - 4:00pm

Sat, Feb 01, 11:00am - 12:30pm

Sat, Feb 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sun, Feb 02, 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Feb 03, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Feb 03, 7:15pm - 9:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Tue, Feb 04, All day

Tue, Feb 04, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Feb 04, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Feb 04, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Feb 04, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Feb 05, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Feb 05, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Sat, Feb 08, 9:00am - 3:00pm

Sun, Feb 09, 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Feb 10, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Feb 11, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Feb 11, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Feb 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Feb 11, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Feb 11, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Feb 12, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Thu, Feb 13, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Fri, Feb 14, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Sat, Feb 15, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Registration opens Saturday, February 1 2020 at 9:00am

Sat, Feb 15, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Feb 15, 4:00pm - 5:45pm

Sun, Feb 16, 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Tue, Feb 18, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Tue, Feb 18, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Feb 18, 10:00am - 4:00pm

Tue, Feb 18, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Feb 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Feb 18, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Feb 18, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Feb 19, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Feb 19, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Wed, Feb 19, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Fri, Feb 21, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Fri, Feb 21, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Feb 22, 12:00pm - 2:00pm

Sat, Feb 22, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Registration opens Saturday, February 8 2020 at 9:00am

Sun, Feb 23, 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Feb 24, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Feb 24, 7:15pm - 9:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Tue, Feb 25, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Feb 25, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Feb 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Feb 25, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Feb 25, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Feb 26, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Feb 26, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Decatur Library Meeting Room

Fri, Feb 28, 11:30am - 4:30pm