close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Southern Homes and Plan Books, Spons. by Anne Architecture

Presented by WABE, Emory, Local Interest, Nonfiction Tracks

2019-09-01 15:45:00 2019-09-01 16:30:00 America/New_York Southern Homes and Plan Books, Spons. by Anne Architecture Decatur Library

Sunday, September 01
3:45pm - 4:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-09-01 15:45:00 2019-09-01 16:30:00 America/New_York Southern Homes and Plan Books, Spons. by Anne Architecture Come learn from the authors of <i>Southern Homes and Plan Books</i>, which showcases the architectural legacy and design philosophy of Leila Ross Wilburn (1885–1967). Decatur Library

Come learn from the authors of <i>Southern Homes and Plan Books</i>, which showcases the architectural legacy and design philosophy of Leila Ross Wilburn (1885–1967).

Southern Homes and Plan Books showcases the architectural legacy and design philosophy of Leila Ross Wilburn (1885–1967), a legacy that includes hundreds of houses in a variety of popular house styles, from bungalows to ranch houses, built using Wilburn’s plan books during the first six decades of the twentieth century. Wilburn opened her own firm in Atlanta in 1908 and practiced until her death in 1967. She published nine plan books that offered mail order house designs to contractors, builders, and prospective homeowners and allowed them the ease of choosing a preconceived design and construction plan. Sarah J. Boykin and Susan M. Hunter provide a survey of the southern homes built from Wilburn’s plan books, examining Wilburn’s architectural legacy and her achievements as a plan book architect. The book provides beautiful photographs of houses built from her plans, along with illustrations from the plan books themselves and other related documents from the time. Readers can thus see how her designs were realized as individual houses and also how they influenced the development of some of the Atlanta area’s beloved historical neighborhoods, most notably Druid Hills, Morningside, Virginia-Highland, and Candler Park, as well as the McDonough–Adams–Kings Highway (MAK) Historic District in Decatur. Today, Wilburn’s houses are enjoyed as appealing, historic homes and represent some of the richest examples of southern vernacular architecture to emerge from the plan book tradition.

Decatur Library

Phone: 404-370-3070

Hours
Mon, Sep 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Sep 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Sep 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Sep 19 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Sep 20 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Sep 21 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Sep 22 1:00PM to 6:00PM

About the library

Funding for some events at this branch provided in part by the Friends of the Decatur Library.

All DeKalb County Public Library branches offer books for all ages including adult learning materials, audiobooks, music CDs, DVDs, current newspapers and magazines. All branches also offer access to computers, internet, WiFi, MS Office, and research databases. For a more comprehensive list of all services available at this branch, please visit the Decatur Library page.

Upcoming events

Mon, Sep 16, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 17, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Sep 17, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Tue, Sep 17, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration is now closed

Tue, Sep 17, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Sep 17, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Sep 18, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Sep 18, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Sat, Sep 21, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Sun, Sep 22, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Sep 23, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 24, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Sep 24, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 24, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Sep 24, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Sep 24, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Sep 25, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Sep 25, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Decatur Library Meeting Room

Thu, Sep 26, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
This event is full

Thu, Sep 26, 7:15pm - 9:00pm

Fri, Sep 27, 11:30am - 4:30pm

Fri, Sep 27, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Sat, Sep 28, 10:00am - 11:00am

Sun, Sep 29, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Tue, Oct 01, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Oct 01, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Oct 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Oct 01, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Oct 01, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Wed, Oct 02, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Wed, Oct 02, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Oct 02, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Thu, Oct 03, 7:15pm - 9:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Sat, Oct 05, 12:00pm - 2:00pm

Sun, Oct 06, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Oct 07, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Oct 08, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Oct 08, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Oct 08, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Oct 08, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Oct 08, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Oct 09, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Fri, Oct 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration opens Friday, September 27 2019 at 9:00am

Sat, Oct 12, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Oct 12, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Mon, Oct 14, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Oct 15, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Oct 15, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Tue, Oct 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Oct 15, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Oct 15, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Oct 15, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Oct 16, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Oct 16, 4:00pm - 5:30pm