close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Dani Shapiro

Dani Shapiro discusses "Inheritance"

2019-06-27 19:15:00 2019-06-27 21:00:00 America/New_York Dani Shapiro Decatur Library

Thursday, June 27
7:15pm - 9:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-06-27 19:15:00 2019-06-27 21:00:00 America/New_York Dani Shapiro From the acclaimed, best-selling memoirist and novelist comes a memoir about the staggering family secret uncovered by a genealogy test. Decatur Library

Decatur Library

Decatur Library Auditorium

From the acclaimed, best-selling memoirist and novelist comes a memoir about the staggering family secret uncovered by a genealogy test.

In the spring of 2016, through a genealogy website to which she had whimsically submitted her DNA for analysis, Dani Shapiro received the stunning news that her father was not her biological father. She woke up one morning and her entire history--the life she had lived--crumbled beneath her.

“Inheritance” is a book about secrets--secrets within families, kept out of shame or self-protectiveness; secrets we keep from one another in the name of love. It is the story of a woman's urgent quest to unlock the story of her own identity, a story that has been scrupulously hidden from her for more than fifty years, years she had spent writing brilliantly, and compulsively, on themes of identity and family history. It is a book about the extraordinary moment we live in--a moment in which science and technology have outpaced not only medical ethics but also the capacities of the human heart to contend with the consequences of what we discover.


Dani Shapiro is the best-selling author of the memoirs “Hourglass”, “Still Writing”, “Devotion”, and “Slow Motion”, and five novels including “Black & White” and “Family History”.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Author Talks |

TAGS: | georgia center for the book's festival of writers |

Decatur Library

Phone: 404-370-3070

Hours
Mon, Jun 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jun 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jun 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jun 20 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Jun 21 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 22 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jun 23 1:00PM to 6:00PM

About the library

Funding for some events at this branch provided in part by the Friends of the Decatur Library.

All DeKalb County Public Library branches offer books for all ages including adult learning materials, audiobooks, music CDs, DVDs, current newspapers and magazines. All branches also offer access to computers, internet, WiFi, MS Office, and research databases. For a more comprehensive list of all services available at this branch, please visit the Decatur Library page.

Upcoming events

Tue, Jun 18, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Jun 18, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jun 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration is now closed

Tue, Jun 18, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Jun 18, 7:00pm - 7:45pm

Wed, Jun 19, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Jun 19, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Wed, Jun 19, 3:30pm - 5:30pm

Fri, Jun 21, 11:30am - 4:30pm

Sun, Jun 23, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Jun 24, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Jun 24, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
This event is full

Mon, Jun 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
This event is full

Tue, Jun 25, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Jun 25, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jun 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Jun 25, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Jun 25, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Jun 25, 7:00pm - 7:45pm

Wed, Jun 26, 10:00am - 11:00am

Wed, Jun 26, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Jun 26, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Wed, Jun 26, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Decatur Library Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 27, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
This event is full

Thu, Jun 27, 7:15pm - 9:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Mon, Jul 01, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jul 02, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Jul 02, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jul 02, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Jul 02, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Jul 03, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Jul 03, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Fri, Jul 05, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
This event is full

Fri, Jul 05, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
This event is full

Mon, Jul 08, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jul 09, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Jul 09, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jul 09, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Jul 09, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Jul 09, 7:00pm - 7:45pm

Wed, Jul 10, 10:00am - 11:00am

Wed, Jul 10, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Jul 10, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Wed, Jul 10, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Registration opens Wednesday, June 19 2019 at 12:00am

Fri, Jul 12, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Sat, Jul 13, 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Sat, Jul 13, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Jul 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jul 16, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Jul 16, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Tue, Jul 16, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Jul 16, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Jul 16, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Jul 16, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Jul 16, 7:00pm - 7:45pm

Wed, Jul 17, 10:00am - 11:00am

Wed, Jul 17, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Jul 17, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Wed, Jul 17, 3:30pm - 5:30pm

Thu, Jul 18, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Thu, Jul 18, 7:15pm - 9:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium