close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Dani Shapiro

Dani Shapiro discusses "Inheritance"

2019-06-27 19:15:00 2019-06-27 21:00:00 America/New_York Dani Shapiro Decatur Library

Thursday, June 27
7:15pm - 9:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-06-27 19:15:00 2019-06-27 21:00:00 America/New_York Dani Shapiro From the acclaimed, best-selling memoirist and novelist comes a memoir about the staggering family secret uncovered by a genealogy test. Decatur Library

Decatur Library

Decatur Library Auditorium

From the acclaimed, best-selling memoirist and novelist comes a memoir about the staggering family secret uncovered by a genealogy test.

In the spring of 2016, through a genealogy website to which she had whimsically submitted her DNA for analysis, Dani Shapiro received the stunning news that her father was not her biological father. She woke up one morning and her entire history--the life she had lived--crumbled beneath her.

“Inheritance” is a book about secrets--secrets within families, kept out of shame or self-protectiveness; secrets we keep from one another in the name of love. It is the story of a woman's urgent quest to unlock the story of her own identity, a story that has been scrupulously hidden from her for more than fifty years, years she had spent writing brilliantly, and compulsively, on themes of identity and family history. It is a book about the extraordinary moment we live in--a moment in which science and technology have outpaced not only medical ethics but also the capacities of the human heart to contend with the consequences of what we discover.


Dani Shapiro is the best-selling author of the memoirs “Hourglass”, “Still Writing”, “Devotion”, and “Slow Motion”, and five novels including “Black & White” and “Family History”.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Author Talks |

TAGS: | georgia center for the book's festival of writers |

Decatur Library

Phone: 404-370-3070

Hours
Mon, Aug 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Aug 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Aug 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Aug 22 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Aug 23 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Aug 24 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Aug 25 1:00PM to 6:00PM

About the library

Funding for some events at this branch provided in part by the Friends of the Decatur Library.

All DeKalb County Public Library branches offer books for all ages including adult learning materials, audiobooks, music CDs, DVDs, current newspapers and magazines. All branches also offer access to computers, internet, WiFi, MS Office, and research databases. For a more comprehensive list of all services available at this branch, please visit the Decatur Library page.

Upcoming events

Fri, Aug 23, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Mon, Aug 26, 10:00am - 4:00pm

Tue, Aug 27, 5:00pm - 6:30pm

Tue, Aug 27, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Aug 27, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Aug 27, 7:15pm - 8:15pm

Rescheduled
Wed, Aug 28, 10:00am - 4:00pm
New date Monday, August 26, 10:00am - 4:00pm

Wed, Aug 28, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Aug 28, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Thu, Aug 29, 11:00am - 12:30pm

Fri, Aug 30, 11:30am - 4:30pm

Sat, Aug 31, 9:00am - 3:00pm

Tue, Sep 03, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Sep 03, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 03, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Sep 04, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Mon, Sep 09, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Sep 09, 7:15pm - 9:00pm

Tue, Sep 10, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Sep 10, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 10, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Sep 10, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Sep 10, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Sep 11, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Sep 11, 7:15pm - 9:00pm

Thu, Sep 12, 12:30pm - 2:00pm
Decatur Library Meeting Room

Sat, Sep 14, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Sep 14, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Mon, Sep 16, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 17, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Sep 17, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Tue, Sep 17, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 17, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Sep 17, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Sep 18, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Sep 18, 4:00pm - 5:30pm