close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Passionate for Justice: Ida B. Wells as Prophet for Our Time

2019-09-24 19:15:00 2019-09-24 21:00:00 America/New_York Passionate for Justice: Ida B. Wells as Prophet for Our Time First Baptist Church of Decatur (308 Clairemont Ave, Decatur, Georgia 30030)

Tuesday, September 24
7:15pm - 9:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-09-24 19:15:00 2019-09-24 21:00:00 America/New_York Passionate for Justice: Ida B. Wells as Prophet for Our Time The authors of <i>Passionate for Justice: Ida B. Wells As Prophet for Our Time</i> discuss the life and lessons of Ida B. Wells. First Baptist Church of Decatur (308 Clairemont Ave, Decatur, Georgia 30030)

The authors of <i>Passionate for Justice: Ida B. Wells As Prophet for Our Time</i> discuss the life and lessons of Ida B. Wells.

In Passionate for Justice: Ida B. Wells As Prophet for Our Time, authors Catherine Meeks, PhD, and Nibs Stroupe create a guide for the current state of affairs in American culture that is enlivened by the historical perspective of Wells' search for justice. Meeks is the retired Clara Carter Acree Distinguished Professor of Socio-Cultural Studies at Wesleyan College and the Director of the Absalom Jones Center for Racial Healing. Gibson (“Nibs”) Stroupe served as pastor of Oakhurst Presbyterian Church in Decatur, Georgia, for 34 years. Oakhurst is nationally known for its multi-racial and multicultural ministry. Both authors have dedicated themselves to working, writing, and developing ministries oriented toward justice, equity, and mercy. This book can be used in all settings, but most especially in churches (pastors and other church leaders, study groups), seminaries, and universities. This event will be held at First Baptist Church of Decatur.

Decatur Library

Phone: 404-370-3070

Hours
Mon, Nov 11 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 12 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 13 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Nov 14 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Nov 15 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 16 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Nov 17 1:00PM to 6:00PM

About the library

Funding for some events at this branch provided in part by the Friends of the Decatur Library.

All DeKalb County Public Library branches offer books for all ages including adult learning materials, audiobooks, music CDs, DVDs, current newspapers and magazines. All branches also offer access to computers, internet, WiFi, MS Office, and research databases. For a more comprehensive list of all services available at this branch, please visit the Decatur Library page.

Upcoming events

Wed, Nov 13, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Nov 13, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Wed, Nov 13, 7:15pm - 9:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Thu, Nov 14, 10:00am - 2:00pm

Thu, Nov 14, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Sun, Nov 17, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Nov 18, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Nov 19, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Nov 19, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Tue, Nov 19, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Nov 19, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration is now closed

Tue, Nov 19, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Nov 19, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Nov 19, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Wed, Nov 20, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Nov 20, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Wed, Nov 20, 7:15pm - 9:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Thu, Nov 21, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Fri, Nov 22, 11:30am - 4:30pm

Sun, Nov 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Nov 25, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Nov 26, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Nov 26, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Nov 26, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 26, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Nov 26, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Nov 27, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Mon, Dec 02, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 03, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Dec 03, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 03, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Dec 04, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Thu, Dec 05, 10:00am - 4:00pm

Thu, Dec 05, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Registration opens Monday, November 18 2019 at 9:00am

Sun, Dec 08, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Dec 09, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 10, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Dec 10, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 10, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Dec 10, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Wed, Dec 11, 12:30pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Dec 11, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Decatur Library Meeting Room