close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Vanessa Riley in conversation with Nicki Salcedo

Vanessa Riley in conversation with Nicki Salcedo

2022-07-14 19:00:00 2022-07-14 20:00:00 America/New_York Vanessa Riley in conversation with Nicki Salcedo Decatur Library

Thursday, July 14
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2022-07-14 19:00:00 2022-07-14 20:00:00 America/New_York Vanessa Riley in conversation with Nicki Salcedo Join the Georgia Center for the Book for an evening with acclaimed author of Island Queen Vanessa Riley, in conversation with Atlanta author and journalist Nicki Salcedo. Decatur Library

Decatur Library

Decatur Library Auditorium

Join the Georgia Center for the Book for an evening with acclaimed author of Island Queen Vanessa Riley, in conversation with Atlanta author and journalist Nicki Salcedo.

Join the Georgia Center for the Book for an evening with acclaimed author of Island Queen Vanessa Riley, in conversation with Atlanta author and journalist Nicki Salcedo. With her new book Sister Mother Warrior, Riley brings readers a vivid, sweeping novel of the Haitian Revolution based on the true-life stories of two extraordinary women: the first Empress of Haiti, Marie-Claire Bonheur, and Gran Toya, a West African-born warrior who helped lead the rebellion that drove out the French and freed the enslaved people of Haiti. This in-person event will be held in the Decatur Library Auditorium. It is free and open to the public, but you must register on Eventbrite here to reserve your spot. 

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Author Talks |

TAGS: | georgia center for the book |

Decatur Library

Phone: 404-370-3070

Hours
Mon, Aug 08 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Aug 09 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Aug 10 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Aug 11 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Fri, Aug 12 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Aug 13 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Aug 14 Closed

About the library

Funding for some events at this branch provided in part by the Friends of the Decatur Library.

All DeKalb County Public Library branches offer books for all ages including adult learning materials, audiobooks, music CDs, DVDs, current newspapers and magazines. All branches also offer access to computers, internet, WiFi, MS Office, and research databases. For a more comprehensive list of all services available at this branch, please visit the Decatur Library page.

Upcoming events

Tue, Aug 23, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Thu, Aug 25, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Wed, Aug 31, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Decatur Library Meeting Room

Sat, Sep 03, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Wed, Sep 07, 10:00am - 10:30am
Registration opens Friday, September 2 2022 at 12:00am

Wed, Sep 07, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Thu, Sep 08, 10:30am - 11:30am
Registration opens Thursday, August 18 2022 at 12:00am

Sat, Sep 10, 9:30am - 3:00pm

Sat, Sep 10, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Decatur Library Auditorium

Mon, Sep 12, 10:00am - 10:30am

Mon, Sep 12, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Sep 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm